03
May
10

Helping Mother Nature…with a glue gun

My wife and I discovered a bunch of twigs on our outside deck. We were puzzled for a while until I noticed that a dove couple was trying to build a nest on top of the light fixture up against the house and over the deck. They must be inexperienced because as hard as the male worked fetching twigs they just fell off on the deck. I told my wife to let nature take its course and if they couldn’t finish the job they’d learn something.

But, nooo! With her bottom lip sticking out my wife went to the garage and came back with the glue gun, a bag of raffia, and a clear plastic saucer used to catch water under a plant. A few minutes later there I was gluing the saucer to the top of the light fixture, stuffing raffia in the bottom and then stacking some of the doves’ twigs on top so they would think they’d done it. As I write this I can hear the whir of wings. Is this helping nature or interfering with the process of the ecosystem?

0 Responses to “Helping Mother Nature…with a glue gun”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Umm, Delicious Bookmarks

Archives

RSS The Vortex

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

