16
Sep
09

Oops! I just went on a spending spree

Hey President Obama, I’m doing my part to restore the economy!

This morning I saw an article on CNET News about a book coming out tomorrow titled Total Recall, by Gordon Bell and Jim Gemmell. They’ve been doing research at Microsoft for years about what it would be like to record everything in your life everyday and keep it in a big database. I tend to use the term “life-caching” for this and it’s a topic I’m interested in. I think it has big implications for areas like Health 2.0 and EHR (electronic health records).

I’m here to confess that Amazon’s “Other people who bought this book also bought…” is a gimmick that works on me. I saw Complexity: A Guided Tour by Melanie Mitchell. I’ve been interested in chaos and complexity — sort of two sides of the same coin — since James Gleick’s Chaos: Making a New Science way back in 1987. I haven’t read anything new in quite awhile, but Complexity has chapters on its application to information theory and biology. I couldn’t resist.

Then I went crazy because the other folks who bought Complexity also bought Wetware: A Computer in Every Living Cell by Dennis Bray. It’s also about biological processes and their relation to information and computation. And finally my buddies who bought Wetware also bought The Machinery of Life by David Goodsell. Naturally, so did I.

Stop me before I spend again!! Well, at least I get free shipping.

0 Responses to “Oops! I just went on a spending spree”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Umm, Delicious Bookmarks

Archives

RSS The Vortex

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

